Posts

Showing posts from March, 2014

Book Review: In the Shadow of Malice

Image
In the Shadow of Malice by Nancy C. Weeks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Nancy C Weeks' 'In the Shadow Of' series are ridiculously addictive reads: romantic suspense with a hint of paranormal, rather in the vein of Rebecca York or Nora Roberts.

'In the Shadow of Malice' features Adam Blake, a tough ex-CIA agent with a weak spot a mile wide where his adorable daughter Anna is concerned, and Calista Martin, a music graduate moonlighting as a waitress in her grandfather's diner, who's determined to protect Anna as she failed to protect her murdered roommate. Both are strong characters, but while Adam is in many ways the driving force of the adventure, Calista can be just as determined when it comes to forcing her way past his defences.

Although an unlikely couple, they are clearly well-matched, and drawn together by their determination to protect Anna from the consequences of Adam's past.  Anna is traumatised into silence by her mother's violent death, but …